

# MINISTRY OF INFRASTRUCTURE State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation

Ref. No.: 361/07

# RESOLUTION

of

State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation in the following composition:

Deputy Chairman of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Andrzej Pussak

Member of the Commission: D. (Eng.) Stanisław Żurkowski

Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Jerzy Kędzierski

Member of the Commission: Eng. Tomasz Makowski

Member of the Commission: MA Tomasz Kuchciński

Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Bogdan Fydrych

At the meeting held on 30 March 2011, after examination of investigation results submitted by the SCAAI Investigation Team on serious air incident - clearance for Airbus A320, registration marks TS-INF to take off despite a car on the runway, which occurred on 23 August 2007 at Poznań-Ławica aerodrome (EPPO) - acting under the Act of 3 July2002 "Aviation Law" (Journal of Laws 2006, No. 100, item. 696 with amendments), the State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation considered the investigation as completed and determined that:

#### The causes of the serious air incident were:

- 1. An ambiguous manner of forbidding Duty Officer by air traffic controller (trainee) to enter the runway.
- 2. Improper monitoring of radio communication and improper visual control of the runway by ATC staff.
- 3. Lack of "situational awareness" of the Duty Officer on the runway.

## **Safety recommendation:**

The Commission accepted solutions recommended by the Runway Safety Team of EPPO:

- 1. to check functioning of the communication equipment by service personnel;
- 2. to introduce refresher training in operating of radio communication equipment;
- 3. to introduce refresher training in use of radio communication phraseology.

### **Signatures of the Commission**

Signature illegible	Deputy Chairman of the Commission: Andrzej Pussak
Signature illegible	Member of the Commission: Stanisław Żurkowski
Signature illegible	Member of the Commission: Jerzy Kędzierski
Signature illegible	Member of the Commission: Tomasz Makowski
Signature illegible	Member of the Commission: Tomasz Kuchciński
Signature illegible	Member of the Commission: Bogdan Fydrych