

MINISTRY OF INFRASTRUCTURE State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation

Occurrence No: 122/08

RESOLUTION

of

State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation in the following composition:

Deputy Chairman of the Commission: D. (Eng.) Maciej Lasek

Member of the Commission: D. (Eng.) Stanisław Żurkowski

Member of the Commission: D. (Eng.) Dariusz Fratczak

Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Waldemar Targalski

Member of the Commission: MA Wiesław Jedynak

Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Jerzy Kędzierski Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Jacek Jaworski

Member of the Commission: MSc (Eng.) Bogdan Fydrych

At the meeting held on 11 May 2011, after examination of the conclusions submitted by the SCAAI Investigating Team on the serious air incident concerning Boeing 737-800 airplane, registration marks EI-DPO, which occurred on 10 March 2008 in Katowice – Pyrzowice (EPKT) CTR - acting under the Act of 3 July, 2002 "Aviation Law" (Journal of Laws 2006, No. 100, item. 696 with amendments), the State Commission on Aircraft Accident Investigation recognized the investigation as completed and determined that:

Causes of the serious incident were:

- 1. Probably inadequate monitoring of FMS indications.
- 2. Probably inadequate CRM by the flight crew in the cockpit.
- 3. Continuation by the crew of the approach procedure without visual contact with the runway evironment.

Contributing factor:

Poor radionavigation aids infrastructure on approach to runway 09 at EPKT aerodrome.

Safety recommendations:

Air operator

1. Examine the probable inadequate CRM within the flight crew with regard to the high diversity of flight experience.

2. Examine the proficiency of the involved flight crew concerning approach procedures.

Polish Air Navigation Services Agency/Management of EPKT aerodrome

- 3. Consider development of EPKT aerodrome infrastructure by installing VOR.
- 4. In the process of theoretical preparation and practical on-job training for ATC personnel, focus their attention on specificities of a visual approach, especially in the case of poor navigation aids, and the principles of the runway lighting operations.

Signatures of the Commission

Deputy Chairman of the Commission: Maciej Lasek
Member of the Commission: Stanisław Żurkowski
Member of the Commission: Dariusz Frątczak
Member of the Commission: Waldemar Targalski
Member of the Commission: Wiesław Jedynak
Member of the Commission: Jerzy Kędzierski
Member of the Commission: Jacek Jaworski
Member of the Commission: Bogdan Fydrych

Signature illegible Signature illegible Signature illegible Signature illegible Signature illegible Signature illegible Signature illegible